It’s Only After We’ve Lost Everything That We’re Free To Do Anything.

fight-club
Fight Club (1999) Photo by Caitlin Black
For me, ‘Fight Club‘ was always one of those films that I heard people referencing or talking about but for some reason I had just never gotten around to seeing. I don’t know if this was down to my sheer laziness or if I was afraid I wouldn’t enjoy it very much after how hyped up it was. When I finally got around to watching it, I was very pleasantly surprised, it was nothing like I had imagined it would be.

In my opinion, the acting from the entire cast could not be faulted, especially from Edward Norton. I believe the film would not have become a cult classic without the casting of Edward Norton, Brad Pitt, Helena Bonham Carter, and even those in small roles such as Meat Loaf and Jared Leto. The acting abilities of these incredible actors are what I think makes the film so captivating.

The film is a rollercoaster which takes the audience on it’s journey, it keeps building up and keeps the audience on the edge of their seats fighting for answers and explanations on what has already happened and what is yet to come. The final scene, is the perfect end to the film, it’s chaotic but calm with ‘Where is My Mind‘ by ‘Pixies‘ playing throughout and left me feeling very satisfied with the film.

Some may question whether this is really a cult classic as it received high ratings and was nominated for an Oscar. Yet, I believe it’s the type of film some people love while others may hate it. Maybe, it’s a style of film you need to have a certain taste for. There is definitely a cult following for this film and it’s message and for me, it is definitely a cult classic.

Leave a Reply

